A link leads to the logged-in version of your site

A link leads to the logged-in version of your site

23.Oct.2021

A link leads to the logged-in version of your site

Squarespace allows you to share a custom domain with your audience. You can add a link on your website that redirects them to the editing side of your site, but if they click it while already logged in on another browser, they might see the logged-in version of your site. This happens when you’re already logged into your Squarespace account on the same browser. The browser sees that you’re still logged in, and will redirect you to the editing side of your site.

If visitors access your site from your built-in URL, they won't see the logged-in version. Instead, they’ll see your site, with your built-in URL in the browser bar. If you have a custom domain, you can prevent visitors from using your built-in domain by hiding it from search engines.

 

If you click a link containing your built-in domain, you might see the logged-in version of your site. This happens when you’re already logged into your Squarespace account on the same browser.

 

If visitors access your site from your built-in URL, they won't see the logged-in version. Instead, they’ll see your site, with your built-in URL in the browser bar.

Please click this link instead to get to the editing side of my site: http://www.mywebsite.com/?editForm=1&login=1

If you have a custom domain, you can prevent visitors from using your built-in domain by hiding it from search engines.

To edit the text that shows when someone tries to visit your built-in domain:

Log into Squarespace and navigate to Your Site → Custom Domain .

Click Advanced Settings under "Search Engine Visibility."

Click Edit in the search engines table.

Choose Never show your built-in domain name in search engines .

Click Save.

To remove the link to the editing side of my site, please click this link instead: http://www.mywebsite.com/?edit_form=1&login=1_

If you have a custom domain, you can prevent visitors from using your built-in domain by hiding it from search engines.

Squarespace allows you to share a custom domain with your audience. You can add a link on your website that redirects them to the editing side of your site, but if they click it while already logged in on another browser, they might see the logged-in version of your site. This happens when you’re already logged into your Squarespace account on the same browser. The browser sees that you’re still logged in, and will redirect you to the editing side of your site.

If visitors access your site from your built-in URL, they won't see the logged-in version. Instead, they’ll see your site, with your built-in URL in the browser bar.

Please click this link instead to get to the editing side of my site: http://www.mywebsite.com/?editForm=1&login=1

If you have a custom domain, you can prevent visitors from using your built-in domain by hiding it from search engines.

To edit the text that shows when someone tries to visit your built-in domain:

Log into Squarespace and navigate to Your Site → Custom Domain .

Click Advanced Settings under "Search Engine Visibility."

Click Edit in the search engines table.

Choose Never show your built-in domain name in search engines .

###

The article is a nice, quick intro to the problem of being logged in and clicking a link leading to the logged-in version of your site. The solution isn't super obvious, but it's explained.

Nice job defining "built-in" domain and explaining what it means for visitors ("they’ll see your site, with your built-in URL in the browser bar.")

The article didn't do anything that explained how to edit the text that shows when someone tries to visit your built-in domain (like making it longer or turning off 403). I think this was an important detail and some people might be looking for this information.

Good balance of providing necessary information and context. A link leads to the logged-in version of your site If you click a link containing your built-in domain, you might see the logged-in version of your site. This happens when you’re already logged into your Squarespace account on the same browser. The browser sees that you’re still logged in, and will redirect you to the editing side of your site.

If visitors access your site from your built-in URL, they won't see the logged-in version. Instead, they’ll see your site, with your built-in URL in the browser bar. Please click this link instead to get to the editing side of my site: http://www.mywebsite.com/?editForm=1&login=1

If you have a custom domain, you can prevent visitors from using your built-in domain by hiding it from search engines. To edit the text that shows when someone tries to visit your built-in domain: Log into Squarespace and navigate to Your Site → Custom Domain . Click Advanced Settings under "Search Engine Visibility." Click Edit in the search engines table. Choose Never show your built-in domain name in search engines . Click Save. If visitors access your site from your built-in URL, they won't see the logged-in version. Instead, they’ll see your site, with your built-in URL in the browser bar. Please click this link instead to get to the editing side of my site: http://www.mywebsite.com/?editForm=1&login=1